Bright Star Awards celebrate 'doing your best to be your best'

The University of Brighton Academies Trust celebrated outstanding pupils and colleagues at its annual Bright Star Awards on Monday 15 July. Held at the University of Brighton’s Asa Briggs lecture theatre, the location underlined the strong nurturing links the university has with the Trust as its sponsor.

The University of Brighton Academies Trust is a not-for-profit charitable trust comprising 15 schools across Sussex aimed at boosting opportunities for children to enjoy brighter futures.

Across an uplifting event each principal highlighted the qualities that made each award-winner outstanding.

Dr John Smith, Chief Executive of the University of Brighton Academies Trust, welcomed students, parents, carers and colleagues to the event, saying:

“I am honoured and incredibly proud to host this occasion. The dedication, excellence and commitment of staff, students, Local Board members and professional services colleagues from our family of schools is inspiring. It also demonstrates very clearly that what we do makes a difference to so many lives.”

The awards were generously sponsored by Astec Computing.

In addition to the award winners there were some terrific performance from academy students. The Dudley Infant Academy Glee club sang by video link, Tom Bruges of The Hastings Academy played classical guitar (having recently achieved Distinction in his Grade 8 guitar exam), and The Hastings Academy dance troupe performed a powerful dance piece entitled  ‘Together we move’.

The winners in full

Student of the Year

Isabelle - The Baird Primary Academy  

Serena - Blackthorns Community Primary Academy  

Evie - Churchwood Primary Academy  

Finley - Desmond Anderson Primary Academy  

Eli - Dudley Infant Academy  

Riley - Hollington Primary Academy   

Katie - Holmbush Primary Academy 

Annabel - Lindfield Primary Academy

Harry - Pound Hill Infant Academy 

Aliyah - Robsack Wood Primary Academy

Jaime - Silverdale Primary Academy

Oscar - West St Leonards Primary Academy 

Adam - The Burgess Hill Academy

Ivan - The Hastings Academy 

Mary-Lou - The St Leonards Academy 


Staff Member of the Year

Nichola Benton - The Baird Primary Academy

Mark Tugwell - Blackthorns Community Primary Academy

Gail Clements - Churchwood Primary Academy

Alison Tighe - Desmond Anderson Primary Academy

Corrine Harris - Dudley Infant Academy

Debbie Wibberley - Hollington Primary Academy

Mandy Southwell - Holmbush Primary Academy

Lorraine Pellett - Lindfield Primary Academy

Elizabeth Davis - Pound Hill Infant Academy

Kerry Hopkinson - Robsack Wood Primary Academy

Claire Baker - Silverdale Primary Academy

Christopher Woods - West St Leonards Primary Academy

Paula Ridley - The Burgess Hill Academy

Lynn Brown - The Hastings Academy 

Julie Jones - The St Leonards Academy 


Local Board Member of the Year 

Winner: Rose Durban


Professional Services Staff Member of the Year

Winner: Mauricia Goldberg